Asphalt Scholarships Program

Flexible Pavements of Ohio (FPO) and its member companies, working through the Ohio Asphalt Scholarship Fund and the National Asphalt Pavement Association Research and Education Foundation (NAPAREF), sponsor a series of asphalt pavement scholarships at eleven universities in Ohio, which offer courses in asphalt pavement technology. Scholarships are awarded for the academic year beginning in the fall and running through the following spring. For the 2019-20 academic year 22 scholarships were awarded. View a list of the 2019-20 recipients

For the upcoming 2020-21 academic year 19 scholarship awards have been announced.  To view the brochure recognizing the recipients and sponsors of the 20-21 scholarships, see the resouce PDF titled 2020 scholarship awards on this page.

Asphalt Scholarship Application Process:   The application period for the   2020-2021, round of scholarships  closed January 31, 2020.  Applications must be submitted using the on-line application on the application page.  Instructions and eligibility requirements are found  on the eligibility page.  Only applications that were submitted between December 1, 2019 and January 31, 2020 were considered.

Asphalt Scholarship Information: The scholarships are awarded to qualifying students selected from applicants from the following participating institutions:

  • Bowling Green State University
  • Ohio Northern University
  • The Ohio State University
  • Ohio University
  • Case Western Reserve University
  • Cleveland State University
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Dayton
  • University of Toledo
  • University of Akron
  • Youngstown State University

The Scholarship Program, which is administered by FPO through the National Research and Education Foundation of the National Asphalt Pavement Association, set out the following objectives:

  • Provide an incentive for students to gain knowledge in asphalt pavement technology by requiring each student receiving a scholarship to take at least one course in asphalt pavement.
  • Provide an incentive for colleges/ universities to offer training in asphalt pavement technology by creating a student demand for the course.
  • Establish close ties between the asphalt industry and universities, to raise the awareness of asphalt pavement  in the academic community and foster asphalt pavement related research.
  • Provide a workforce trained in asphalt pavement technology.

Additional information on the NAPAREF scholarship program can be found at

Sponsors: The Ohio Asphalt Industry Scholarships are sponsored by the following member companies:

  • Martin Marietta Aggregates
  • Barrett Paving Materials, Inc.
  • Burgett Family/ Kokosing Construction Company
  • Erie Blacktop
  • Gerken Paving, Inc.
  • John R. Jurgensen Company/ Valley Asphalt
  • Ohio CAT and Caterpillar, Inc.
  • Kenmore Construction Company/ Northstar Asphalt, Inc.
  • Shelly and Sands, Inc.
  • The Shelly Company

In addition, the following companies and individuals contributed to the Flexible Pavements of Ohio Scholarship fund: Bowers Asphalt, Columbus Bituminous, Columbus Equipment, Cunningham Asphalt Paving, Inc, Bill Fair, Fred and Teresa Frecker, General Insurance Co, Hardrives Paving Const. Inc, Hy-Grade, Koski Construction Co, M&B Asphalt, McLean Equipment, Meeker Equipment Co, Inc, Northeastern Road Improvement, Northern Ohio Paving, Osterland, Schloss Paving, H.P. Streicher, Thomas Asphalt and Valley Paving Co. and Mid-Ohio Paving Inc. & friends. A special scholarship, The Wayne and Debbie Brassell Asphalt Pavement Industry Scholarship, is selected by the FPO scholarship committee and awarded through Ohio University.

For more information on the Ohio Asphalt Scholarship Program, contact Flexible Pavements of Ohio.

Other Asphalt Scholarship Opportunities
Association of Asphalt Paving Technologists (AAPT) Scholarship Program
The Association of Modified Asphalt Producers (AMAP) Dr. David R. Jones IV Scholarship